top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureThe Gladius Shop

New - Among Us Crocs Clog Shoes

New - Among Us Crocs Clog Shoes

Project runway: 50 years of first-class airport fashion

Dolly Parton greets the arrivals gate with a jump-kick and an enormous smile. The pope does wear a skull cap and gown even for take-off. It is very hard to make a tracksuit look chic, but Whitney Houston in a white shell suit and coordinating Fila sun visor can pull it off (Justin Bieber, in grey tracksuit bottoms tucked into rainbow socks, cannot). Jane Birkin makes walking through the airport with a large stick of duty-free cigarettes poking out of a wicker basket look cool. Miley Cyrus prefers a unicorn onesie and a Barbie-pink companion.

These are just some of the takeaways from Come Fly With Me, a new photography book from Rizzoli celebrating the history of celebrity airport style over the past 50 years. From a bowler hat-tipping Frank Sinatra in 1961 to a puffa-jacket-shrouded Rihanna, they tell a story of how radically fashion, travel and celebrity culture has changed. Edited by long-time Rolling Stone creative director Jodi Peckman and framed by journalist Jason Gay’s foreword, the images are punctuated by quotes on the subject of travel from various high-flyers: “Anywhere I go, there is always an incredible crowd that follows me. In Rome, as I land at the airport, even the men kiss me,” said Muhammad Ali, who is captured looking eminently chic in a cream suit. “I haven’t isolated myself,” Nicolas Cage insists, dressed in a louche rock ’n’ roll ensemble of leather trousers and leopard-print leather jacket. “I am not living on a yacht somewhere. I am not tucked away or behind a gate somewhere. I am not flying on a private plane. I am going to the airport.” 




9 views0 comments
bottom of page