top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureThe Gladius Shop

Hot - Couple Dancing Easily Distracted By music And Dance poster, canvas

Hot - Couple Dancing Easily Distracted By music And Dance poster, canvas

8 Fashion Trends From Our Childhood That We'd Still Wear

During the lockdown, I decided to take a trip down memory lane and sort out my childhood photo albums with the mission of digitalising them. In the process, I had a revelation when I noticed the uncanny similarity in the outfits of then vs. now. Noticing not many differences in the styles, the clothes I wore as a ’90s child are almost alike to the trending ones I wear as an adult in the 21st century.

Back in the day, we did not have the liberty to dress by ourselves and choose the outfits we would want to buy. All our sartorial choices were a reflection of our parents’ taste (good or bad). If you got lucky and your mother was all about fashion, you would have surely donned some pretty cute outfits! Nevertheless, the clothes produced then were limited in their style and most of us have probably worn similar outfits.

The Peter Pan collar dresses that I wore to school, colourful jelly sandals that I stomped into puddles, elegant lace frocks worn at fancy events, these are some of the styles that are reminiscent of my toddler phase. Like me, if you find yourself wishing you could fit into them again, just open your closet and you are sure to find at least 1 similar outfit. Although, of course not identical, the styles today are more current with tweaks here and there. However, it gets you nostalgic and makes you wish to do the challenge where you replicate your childhood photos!

We all have a few staple wardrobe essentials that are more relevant to the current fashion styles that we can’t do without. But the styles from our childhood are favourites we can relate to. It also goes to show how trends have a way of coming back and some just never go out of style!


7 views0 comments
bottom of page